• Language
  • £
  • Login

Enter Shikari, The XX amongst AIM Independent Music Awards winners

Central London celebrated the best in the independent music industry last night, as it hosted the third annual AIM Awards. 

The night saw nominees and guests gather for performances from Franz Ferdinand and Billy Bragg, who took to the stage amongst winner announcements. The latter finished the night by being presented with this year's Outstanding Contribution award. This year's big winners include Enter Shikari, who walked home with Best Live Act. Vampire Weekend took this year's Best Independent Track award for 'Diane Young' and The XX were rightly voted as those with the best second album, for their effort 'Co-Exist'. There's a full list of winners below. 

Best Live Act: Enter Shikari 
Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Hardest Working Band Or Artist: Frankie & The Heartstrings 
Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album: The xx - ‘Co-exist’ 
Independent Album Of The Year: Daughter - ‘If You Leave’
Best Small Label: Alcopop! Records
PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: Various Artists - Scared To Get Happy : A Story of Indie Pop 1980 - 89
Independent Label Of The Year: Warp 
Independent Track Of The Year: Vampire Weekend - ‘Diane Young’
Independent Video Of The Year: Django Django - ‘WOR’
Indie Champion Award: Gilles Peterson - BBC 6music 
Golden Welly Award (in association with UK Music, AIF + DIY): In The Woods
Special Recognition Award: Steve Lamacq - BBC 6music
Outstanding Contribution to Music: Billy Bragg 
Pioneer Award: Geoff Travis, Rough Trade

Edited On 04 Sep, 2013

( 0 )

Please describe the nature of the abuse: