Sony has now released firmware V3.61 meaning that some PSN Online services, including matchmaking are making a return as of now.
Sony has been working on a new PS3 system software update that requires all PSN users to change their password once PlayStation Network is restored and that firmware is available to you now, as soon as you turn on your machine.
If using a PS3, your password can only be changed on your own PS3 (or a PS3 on which your PSN account was activated), as an added layer of security. If you have never downloaded any content using your account on the system, an email will be sent to the registered sign-in ID (email address) associated with your account when you first attempt to sign-in to PSN. This e-mail will contain a link that will enable you to change your password. In this email, click on the link and follow the instructions to change your password. Once you have changed your password you can sign-in to your account using your new password.
The PSN restoration is being carried out in a phased restoration by region of some of the services, starting with online multiplayer functionality.
It may take a while for all regions to be back online, but it’s happening.
Here’s what’s coming back online:
- Sign-in for PlayStation Network and Qriocity services, including the resetting of passwords
- Online gameplay across PlayStation 3 and PSP
- Playback rental video content, if within rental period, of PlayStation Store Video Store on PS3, PSP and Media Go
- Q Music Unlimited (subscribers) PS3 and PC
- VidZone and MUBI
- Friends List including Chat Functionality, Trophy Comparison, etc
- PlayStation Home
- Increased Security measures